Growatt MID 36-60KTL3-X3
Commercial PV inverter
Growatt's August 2026 manual identifies a monitoring RS-485 pair on pins 3/4, a meter pair on pins 7/8 and separate DRMS contacts. Those physical roles help an integrator survey the plant, but the retained documents do not supply a firmware-matched third-party inverter register map or a software dispatch contract. This guide covers the four standard X3 ratings, not the LV or MV variants.
- RS485
Commercial PV inverter
Compatibility
Monitoring wiring documented; direct data access unverified
The August 2026 manual assigns inverter-monitoring RS485A1/B1 to pins 3/4 and meter RS485A3/B3 to pins 7/8. Its meter Modbus examples do not define a third-party inverter register map, bus coexistence or an Edge read path.
Standard MID 36KTL3-X3, MID 40KTL3-X3, MID 50KTL3-X3 and MID 60KTL3-X3 only. Record the exact nameplate, firmware, regional grid setting, monitoring accessory, meter and occupied connector pins. The 36KTL3-X3 LV and 50/60/70KTL3-X3 MV variants have different electrical specifications and are outside this guide.
Models
| Models | Interface | Route into Edge |
|---|---|---|
| MID 36KTL3-X3 and MID 40KTL3-X3 | Four MPPTs; 16-pin socket with separate monitoring and meter RS-485 pairs | Identify the installed firmware and obtain the approved inverter read specification before planning an independent client. |
| MID 50KTL3-X3 | Four MPPTs and eight PV strings; the standard 400 V-class variant | Do not substitute the 50KTL3-X3 MV rating or its electrical limits. |
| MID 60KTL3-X3 | Five MPPTs and nine PV strings; the standard 400 V-class variant | Confirm the meter and monitoring topology separately from the 60KTL3-X3 MV variant. |
Specifications
The August 2026 manual lists four standard three-phase ratings of 36, 40, 50 and 60 kW at nominal 230/400 V. The 36, 40 and 50 kW units have four MPPTs; the 60 kW unit has five. Its separate LV and MV tables must not be applied to these standard variants.12
- Rated AC output
- 36, 40, 50 and 60 kW respectively; nominal three-phase 230/400 V1
- PV trackers and strings
- Four MPPTs and eight strings on 36/40/50 kW; five MPPTs and nine strings on 60 kW1
- Monitoring connection
- 16-pin socket pins 3/4: RS485A1/B1 for inverter monitoring1
- Meter connection
- 16-pin socket pins 7/8: RS485A3/B3 for the commissioned meter1
- DRMS contacts
- Pins 9-12: DRM1/5 through DRM4/8; pin 13 REF/GEN; pin 14 DRM0/COM1
- Optional monitoring
- USB-A Shine WiFi, 4G and LAN accessory families listed in section 10.21
- Enclosure
- IP66; 579 × 429 × 224 mm; -25 to +60 °C with derating above 45 °C1
Interface
Documented measurements and integration boundaries for MID 36-60KTL3-X3.
- The manual's 16-pin communication socket assigns RS485A1/B1 on pins 3/4 to inverter monitoring and RS485A3/B3 on pins 7/8 to meter communication. A wiring pair alone does not specify the inverter's register addresses, access rights or polling limits.
- DRMS uses dry-contact inputs on pins 9-12, REF/GEN on pin 13 and DRM0/COM on pin 14. These are grid-response inputs, not a general-purpose serial or software dispatch API.
- Growatt describes optional USB-A Shine monitoring modules, including WiFi, 4G and LAN types. A module's network uplink does not establish a local Modbus TCP server or grant third-party access.
- The manual discusses SDM630CT-Modbus V3 and other meter communication. Those Modbus details describe the inverter-to-meter arrangement and cannot be copied into an inverter read template.
- A point-of-connection import or export value comes from a correctly installed meter, not from inverter AC production alone. Grid-code settings, export limitation and DRMS contacts remain under the commissioned plant design.
Assessment
Standard MID 36/40/50/60KTL3-X3 variants. Physical monitoring, meter and DRMS roles are documented; third-party inverter telemetry and dispatch remain unverified.
- InteroperabilityLimited
- A dedicated inverter-monitoring RS-485 pair is documented, but no firmware-matched external inverter register contract or client coexistence rule is retained.1
- AccuracyLimited
- The inverter and commissioned meter have distinct ports. Third-party points, scaling and freshness are not specified, and inverter output is not site import/export.1
- SecurityNot yet assessed
- Third-party serial access control and client permissions are not specified.1
- ReliabilityNot yet assessed
- Third-party polling capacity, recovery and stale-value behavior are not documented.1
- RuggednessSupported with conditions
- The manual specifies IP66 and a -25 to +60 °C operating range, derating above 45 °C. Preserve ventilation, sealed connectors and the installed environmental limits.1
- ScalabilityNot yet assessed
- The documentation does not establish bus loading or simultaneous third-party clients across a fleet.1
Setup
-
Identify the standard X3 variant
Record the complete nameplate, firmware and grid code. Check that the suffix does not identify an LV or MV model, and note the installed meter, logger and DRMS wiring.
-
Trace the 16-pin socket
Use section 10.1 of the manual for the installed hardware. Distinguish monitoring pins 3/4, meter pins 7/8 and dry contacts 9-14 before proposing any independent connection.
-
Obtain the inverter read contract
Request Growatt's firmware-matched third-party specification covering bus ownership, address, supported functions, register widths, scaling, update rate and coexistence with the existing logger.
-
Define measurement acceptance
After a read contract is approved, compare candidate inverter power, energy and status with simultaneous inverter values. Use the separately identified site meter for point-of-connection measurements and check signs, units, freshness and loss-of-communications behavior.
-
Keep control under the commissioned design
Retain grid protection, export limits and DRMS on the installed control scheme. A flexibility connection requires a separate documented control path, authority and fail-safe acceptance.
Common questions
- Can Edge read the MID X3 directly over RS-485?
- The manual identifies an inverter-monitoring RS-485 pair, but it does not provide the inverter register map, polling or multi-client rules needed to establish an Edge read. Obtain the exact firmware's approved data specification first.1
- Can the meter Modbus examples be used for inverter production?
- No. The meter examples describe a separate inverter-to-meter interface on pins 7/8. They do not define inverter production registers on monitoring pins 3/4.1
- Are DRMS contacts a VPP command interface?
- The documented DRMS pins are dry-contact grid-response inputs. A VPP dispatch design needs its own authority, command, acknowledgement and fail-safe specification; this guide establishes none of those software functions.1
Sources
- MID 36-60KTL3-X3 user manual, August 2026 (opens in a new tab) (PDF)
- MID 36-60KTL3-X3 datasheet, August 2026 (opens in a new tab) (PDF)
- MID 36-60KTL3-X3 product page (opens in a new tab)
Further reading
Product names and trademarks belong to their owners. Publication does not imply endorsement or a commercial relationship.






